FR / EN

Un-

usual

passa-

ges

2015

Presented byExmuro

Public

arts

circuit

July 2

TO November 2

2015



12

installations

in le Quartier

Création

Vieux-Port

Place-Royale

Petit-Champlain

Quartier création
Ville de québec

Event

A unique way

to experience

the city

Discover 12 playful, intriguing installations by visual artists and architecture collectives, that question our relation to the world and the urban space. Under the artistic direction of Vincent Roy, PASSAGES INSOLITES 2015 (Unusual Passages) walk off beaten trails to produce unusual, surprising new ways of living the city.

Artis-

ts

Discover our

12 installations

Acapulco

1
Material Culture

In the language of archaeology, Material Culture refers to all the artefacts from a period, a civilisation, an area or a population. Like a cliché depicting a society frozen in a given era, Acapulco presents an archaeological site that evokes the passing of time and a troubling yet whimsical fictional past. At the very heart of a historic neighborhood, Material Culture invites passersby to reconsider our history, our posterity, our legacy. With its strange anachronistic remains and artefacts, the installation also questions the roots of our identity and shakes the visitors’ critical thinking.

biography


Acapulco is a collective founded in 2009 in Quebec City by Pierre Brassard, Vincent Hinse and Marie­-Pier Lebeau. These self­-taught visual artists have studied fine woodcrafting. Their projects often take the form on outdoor interventions, infiltrating works and site-specific installations, built on ambiguity and hoaxes. They have been presented among the satellite exhibitions of Manif d’art 7 (with the collaboration of EXMURO and Maison Hamel-Bruneau) and as part of events such as CHANTIER (Regart), Projet Clés en main (Folie/Culture), Art Souterrain (Galerie SAS, Montreal) and Meublémouvants (Centre MATERIA).

Cooke-
Sasseville

2
The Odyssey

A park is taken over by three oversized pigeons with their eye on a can of Campbell soup. The birds look like they cannot figure out how to open the object or how much food it contains. A reference to pop art and Andy Warhol, the installation becomes a representation of the so-called hermeticism that brings criticism to contemporary art.

biography


Cooke­-Sasseville is a duet of artists based in Quebec City, working together since 2000. They lead careers as sculptors and installation artists and have produced many public art works. Their works have been shown in over fifteen solo exhibitions, and they have been part of numerous collective events in the province of Quebec and abroad. Recipients of many prizes and grants over the course of their career, Cooke­-Sasseville have developed a particular artistic approach bearing reflections on the artist’s status, alienation, the advertising culture and the relation between art and triviality.

José luis

Torres

3
Overflows

The installation overflows in the space, bursting in colors. Seeing colorful objects from their familiar environments inside shipping containers, visitors are faced with the notions of expansion and excess. The work with its vivid colors is quickly perceived as seducing and playful. However, there is something disturbing about it, as if it held a potential threat. The excessive accumulation of plastic objects overflows from the installation and increases the feeling of insecurity.

biography


José Luis Torres was born in Argentina. He holds a bachelor's degree in Visual Arts, a master's degree in Sculpture and professional training in Architecture. He has been living and working in Quebec since 2003. His works have been on display in many solo and collective exhibitions, public interventions and artist residencies across Canada, Argentina, the United States, Mexico and Europe.

Laurent-
Gagnon

4
Black Strands (Great Wind)

Mysterious amusing yet threatening shapes spring from a facade on Saint-Paul Street. Entanglements of wild, waving cedar fragments sprawl above our heads. These reminders of the wind flow also depict the unpredictable fluctuations of algae, of hair, or the sinuous wiring of the nervous system.

biography


Laurent Gagnon lives and works in Quebec City. He holds a master’s degree in Visual Arts from the Université Laval (2002). A sculptor, he has also added printing techniques to his practice. He has created several solo and collective exhibitions in Quebec, Ontario and internationally. In the last few years, he has developed a strong interest for the various forms of public art, and collaborated with partners such as Folie/Culture, EXMURO arts publics or XO Développement. He also produces works as part of Quebec’s integration of arts into architecture program. Laurent Gagnon’s works have been included in several private and public collections such as those of Hydro-­Québec, Pétrolia, the Institut Canadien or the Archives nationales du Québec.

Diane
Landry & Francis
Labissonnière

5
Solitary

The skeleton of a bell tower is dressed in a membrane that hugs its slender body. Forsaken, this work is a reminder of our mixed origins. A bell tower without a building, a buried vessel’s chimney, the sculpture rises from the ground like a rocket ready to take off. Its canvas dress evokes a shelter, a tent, a tepee. With its rather unusual erection in such a narrow passage, the Solitary catches passersby by surprise. The urban platform at the entrance invites us to enter this space and experience the celestial aura of the arrow.

biography


Born in Cap-­de-­la-­Madeleine, Diane Landry lives and works in Quebec City. She has initially studied Natural Sciences and worked in agricultural before receiving her bachelor’s degree (Université Laval, Quebec City) and master’s degree (Stanford University, California) in Visual Arts. Her works have been exhibited in North America, Europe, China and Australia, where she has also presented performances. In 2009 the Musée d’art de Joliette in Quebec published the first retrospective of her work, The Defibrillators. Her first American retrospective The Cadence of All Things was on view at the Cameron Art Museum in Wilmington, NC. Landry is represented by Galerie Michel Guimont (Quebec City), Carl Solway Gallery (Cincinnati, Ohio) and Barbara Edwards Contemporary (Calgary). She has received many distinctions including the Guggenheim grant in 2015.Born in Batiscan, Francis Labissonnière has studied welding and molding as well as visual and media arts. He also holds a diploma in sculpture from the École des métiers d’art de Québec. Inspired by the shape, the story and the memory of things, Francis Labissonnière produces miniature versions of everyday objects and tries to give them back some formal poetry. Using various sculpting techniques (assembling, welding, molding), he creates a better world at small-­scale, in an attempt to capture childhood. Francis Labissonnière has shown his works in Quebec City, Lévis and Toronto, among other places. He lives and works in Quebec City.

Isabelle
Hayeur

6
Agora

Agora is a reflection on the future of Quebec, in the context of the current neoliberal politics. The artist addresses themes such as the disengagement of the government, the privatisation of public institutions, the austerity measures, the erosion of political freedom, of education, of the environment… She has invited researchers, journalists, politicians, activists, environmentalists to send her their reflections on the current political situation. She has asked them: “Where are we heading? What does the future hold for Quebec?” “What outrages you?” “What are your fears, your hopes?” From the thoughts she has received, she creates virtual murals with texts that appear and disappear.

biography


A digital image artist based in Montreal, Isabelle Hayeur is known for her photographic montages, her videos and her site­-specific installations that highlight the pitfalls of urbanization. Her works have been widely shown in Quebec and internationally. They are to be found in collections such as those of the National Gallery of Canada, the Fonds national d'art contemporain in Paris, the Art Gallery of Ontario, the Vancouver Art Gallery, the Musée d'art contemporain de Montréal, the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, the New Orleans Museum of Art and the Museum of Contemporary Photography in Chicago. Isabelle Hayeur was a finalist at the Scotiabank Photography Award in 2015.

Elsa
Tomkowiak

7
Sans titre

Invasions, modulations, gradations of color over large transparent plastic strips distort our perception of the architecture. The organic, mineral color spreads and questions our bodies’ relation to the notion of artifice. At the scale of the urban or natural landscape, the artist offers a sensory, dynamic experience. Painted in this deep, lively palette, a new vibrating wall disseminates light that changes throughout the day.

biography


Born in Saint­-Vallier, France, Elsa Tomkowiak lives and works in Nantes. For a decade, she has been occupying architectural and natural spaces with her large-­scale installations. Her colorful interventions have taken over the snowy slopes of the Alps as well as abandoned industrial sites or the walls and structures of various buildings. Her installations, drawings and works from mixed techniques have been shown all over France, in solo and collective exhibitions and as part of major events.

Yves
Gendreau

8
La Tour de Babel aux échelles

Alluding to both order and chaos, the installation is inspired by the myth of the Babel Tower. It represents a project of society in constant transformation, driven by an immoderate ambition. It is not a definite structure, but a process. An anarchic construction, this DIY colorful tower combines strength and insecurity. The evolutive installation changes progressively. The artist stages his work. An hybrid character dressed and equipped as a construction worker, he organizes his site, constructs, climbs up his ladders. With a touch of humor and undeniable exuberance, Babel Tower at the Top of the Ladders evokes our increasingly complex contemporary civilization. It suggests the presence of alterity and diversity, the ever fragile essential values of a project of society, of a human construction site that calls for participation and social cohesion.

biography


Yves Gendreau has developed an artistic practice that oscillates between commissioned public art creations and independent sculptures. His works have been exhibited in site-specific contexts (Chantier 365, L’intention Dare­dare, 1998), at events and symposiums, in Quebec (D’un millénaire à l’autre, Maison de la culture Côte­-des-­Neiges, Montreal, 2000), Switzerland and France (Chantier Public, 4mcube art contemporain, Rennes, 2003). He has produced many works integrated into the architecture such as those that can be seen outdoors at the Université de Montréal’s J.­A. Bombardier pavilion, at the de la Concorde metro station (Laval), at the Promenade Samuel­-De Champlain (Quebec City) and the Complexe multisports of the Université Laval (Quebec City). He has also been involved for 30 years at artist­-run center 3e Impérial.

Fontaine /
Fortin /
Labelle

9
Petite vie

In the vacuum rhythmed by the sound of the streets, a wall exhibits its personality. Its facade invites passersby to question their role in the city’s architectural landscape. The wall pretends to be the city. How can we distinguish reality from fiction? Why so many ornamentations? Do we consume human relationships as we consume architecture? Judging on the surface? Yet there are perceptible clues. The passage between the openings is a reminder of the relationship between the inside and the outside. A different space. The awareness that beyond the surface hides a story. The edge of the wall is a space of its own, a passage that recalls the thickness of the walls around. Is such thickness necessary or are we being played? The inside of the installation laughs at its surroundings. A place of its own contained between two walls, an ode to the unusual. A game, a theater set… inside a theater set? At Place-Royale, facades are talking and telling stories. Life stories.

#petitevie

biography


Francis Fontaine, Luca Fortin and Pascal Labelle are a creative group of individuals from distinct universes who have punctually worked together since their first encounter at the École d’architecture of the Université Laval. Combining their backgrounds in art, engineering, and architecture, their experiences and studies in France, Switzerland and Sweden, their singular approach leans towards architecture and design. At the base of their creative methodology, which is bound to evolve, is a quest for balance between the innovating technologies, sensitivity to sites, and taste for playing with shapes and for absurd humor.

François
Mathieu

10
Bas les armes!

Loading and unloading concrete, repeatedly. Mixing equal parts of love, effort and gear, losing oneself in the process.Playing with words; mortar, mortars, cannons of Quebec City… The wooden structures get a little carried away, in a military logic of cascading movements. Bodies bend and straighten up, they turn around and over. All eyes are on an out-of-focus horizon. Weapons are swirling, taking their entourage as targets, at cross-purposes. Aiming thoughtlessly in every direction is like shooting oneself in the feet. Taken lightly, the carriage of arms is a game loaded with meaning.

biography


Holding bachelor’s degrees in Philosophy and in Visual Arts as well as a master’s degree in Quebec Studies, François Mathieu has worked as a technician at the École des arts visuels of the Université Laval, at the Valet de Cœur and L’Œil de Poisson’s studios, and at the design department of Collège F­X. Garneau in Quebec City. As a sculptor, he has shown his work in 30 solo exhibitions and several group events in Canada, Mexico and Belgium, in addition to producing many commissioned public art works. His still machines convey poetic visions of the world’s meaning. A native of Saint­-Éphrem in Quebec’s Beauce region, he lives and works in Saint­-Sylvestre, near Quebec City.

Rosemarie
Faille-Faubert &
Victor Gounel

11
Jardins électroniques

Between hanging gardens, honeymoon fireflies, databank computer cables and organisms from the future drowning in chemical agents, the electronic gardens spread over the dark corners of the city. They are a source of wellbeing for vitamin D-deprived citizens…

biography


Rosemarie Faille­-Faubert, a candidate to the master’s degree in Architecture at the Université Laval, has recently returned from a fulfilling year in France. She has won a few contests such as Paysages en dialogue and Passages Insolites. Passionate about discovering landscapes, she is into the kind of architecture that is experimental as well as attentive and reactive to human needs.A student of the École Nationale Supérieure d’Architecture de Montpellier (France), Victor Gounel is also a painter and founder of the Tristesse Collective, which promotes pluridisciplinary arts. He is interested in various art forms and in experience as a driving force for new creations.

Francis
Montillaud

12
Quiproquo monumental

From scale models, I have created a series of life-size statues, reversing the usual ways of doing tributes to great men. My proposal is to insert in the public space six bewildering yet realistic sculptures that go back and forth between figurines and statuaries, between the figurative and the abstract, between comedy and solemnity. Positioned here and there in the park, these strange statues shake up our relation to public art and to traditional monuments by derailing the systems of body image construction and mocking the figure of the hero.

biography


Francis Montillaud lives and works in Montreal. His work has been exhibited in galleries, artist-run centers, culture houses and events in Canada and in France. Since 2007, he has created many short­-lived installations in Montreal. His permanent works can be seen at Station de Mies Van Der Rohe on Île­-des-­Soeurs, at Parc Dollard-­des-­Ormeaux, at the Sculpture Garden in Winnipeg and at elementary school aux Quatre­Vents in Saint-­Jean­-sur-le-­Richelieu. He has developed and designed the video and scenography of Ailleurs, a multimedia theater performance by Kevin McCoy, for which he has been nominated at the 2007 Gala des Masques.

Photos

cont-

est

La Belle

Insolite

Photo

Contest

starting on JUlY 24, 2015

From July 24 to September 28, 2015, take part in the “La Belle Insolite” photo contest held by EXMURO arts publics in collaboration with Restos Plaisirs! There are 3 ways to win:

1. Share on Instagram, Twitter, Facebook your JPEG picture including one of the works of the public art circuit Passages Insolites 2015 with the #passagesinsolites hashtag and have a chance to win one of 10 Instant Participation Prizes: a $25 gift cards in one of the Restos Plaisirs.

2. Like EXMURO arts publics’ Facebook page, share your JPEG picture including one of the works of the public art circuit Passages Insolites 2015 with the #passagesinsolites hashtag. Invite your friends to like EXMURO arts publics’ Facebook page and to vote. You have a chance to win the “La Belle Insolite” Public Grand Prize: a $150 value meal for 2 at Restos Plaisirs and a $310 value gift basket.

3. Fill out the form and upload a picture including one of the works of the public art circuit Passages Insolites 2015 (1024 x 768, 72 dpi JPEG). You have a chance to win the “La Belle Insolite” Jury Grand Prize: a $150 value meal for 2 at Restos Plaisirs and a $310 value gift basket.

Only one entry per person is accepted. See contest details and rules.

Download the rules

Fill the form

#passagesinsolites



Resto plaisir
‹ 2014 edition

Les

passa-

ges

inso-

lites

2015

Présenté parExmuro

Parcours

d'art

public

DU 2 juillet

AU 2 novembre



12

installations

dans le Quartier

Création

Vieux-Port

Place-Royale

Petit-Champlain

Quartier création
Ville de québec

Événe-

ment

Une façon

originale

de vivre

la ville!

Découvrez 12 installations ludiques et intrtigantes créées par des artistes en arts visuels et des collectifs en architecture, qui questionnent notre rapport au monde et à l’espace urbain.Sous la direction artistique de Vincent Roy, les PASSAGES INSOLITES 2015 sortent des sentiers battus pour engendrer de l’inédit et du surprenant. Une façon originale de vivre la ville!

Artis-

tes

Découvrez un

avant-goût des

12 installations

Acapulco

1
Culture matérielle

En termes archéologiques, la Culture matérielle représente l’ensemble des artefacts relevant d’une période, d’une civilisation, d’une région ou d’un peuple. À l’image d’un cliché qui définit une société figée dans une époque donnée, Acapulco présente un site archéologique qui fait référence au passage du temps en évoquant un passé fictif à la fois troublant et fantaisiste. Située en plein cœur d’un quartier touristique chargé d’histoire, Culture matérielle incite le passant à reconsidérer notre histoire, notre postérité, notre héritage. Par ses étranges vestiges et ses artefacts anachroniques, l’installation questionne également nos racines identitaires et ébranle l’esprit critique du visiteur.

Biographie


Acapulco est un collectif fondé en 2009 à Québec par Pierre Brassard, Vincent Hinse et Marie-Pier Lebeau. Artistes autodidactes en arts visuels, ils détiennent une formation en ébénisterie artisanale. Leurs œuvres prennent souvent la forme d’interventions extérieures, d’œuvres infiltrantes et de projets in situ, au cœur desquels se retrouvent l’ambiguïté et le canular. Elles ont été présentées dans le volet satellite de la Manif d’art 7 (collaboration EXMURO et Maison Hamel-Bruneau) et lors des événements CHANTIER (Regart), Projet Clés en main (Folie/Culture), Art Souterrain (Galerie SAS, Montréal) et Meublémouvants (Centre MATERIA).

Cooke-
Sasseville

2
L'Odyssée

Un parc est assiégé par trois pigeons surdimensionnés qui reluquent une canne de soupe Campbell… Ces volatiles donnent l’impression de ne pas saisir comment ouvrir le contenant ou de ne pas savoir qu’il contient une grande quantité de nourriture. Œuvre faisant référence au pop art et à Andy Warhol, elle devient la représentation d’un supposé hermétisme souvent reproché à l’art actuel.

Biographie


Cooke-Sasseville est un duo d’artistes établi à Québec et œuvrant depuis 2000. Ils mènent de front une carrière de sculpteurs et d’installateurs et ont à leur actif plusieurs réalisations dans le domaine de l’art public. Ils ont présentés leur travail dans plus d’une quinzaine d’expositions solo et ont pris part à un nombre important d’événements collectifs aussi bien au Québec qu’à l’étranger. Récipiendaires de nombreux prix et bourses au fil de leur carrière, Cooke-Sasseville ont su développer une démarche artistique singulière, porteuse de réflexions sur la condition de l’artiste, l’aliénation, la culture publicitaire ou encore le rapport de l’art à la banalité.

José luis

Torres

3
Débordements

L’oeuvre inscrit une forme de débordement dans l’espace, dans l’éclatement et la couleur. À l’intérieur de conteneurs maritimes, des objets colorés issus de nos environnements familiers situent d’emblée le visiteur face aux notions d’expansion et d’excès. Rapidement, l’oeuvre est perçue comme séduisante et ludique avec ses couleurs vives. Cependant, on y détecte un aspect plus inquiétant, comme si elle représentait une menace potentielle. L’accumulation excessive d’objets en plastique déborde de l’oeuvre et accroit le sentiment de précarité.

Biographie


José Luis Torres est né en Argentine. Il détient un baccalauréat en arts visuels, une maîtrise en sculpture et une formation en architecture. Il vit et travaille au Québec depuis 2003. Ses oeuvres ont été présentées dans le cadre de nombreuses expositions individuelles et collectives, d’interventions publiques ainsi qu’au cours de résidences d’artistes à travers le Canada, l’Argentine, les États-Unis, le Mexique et l’Europe.

Laurent-
Gagnon

4
Mèches noires (Grand vent)

Une façade de la rue Saint-Paul laisse jaillir par ses ouvertures d’intrigantes formes tentaculaires, à la fois menaçantes et amusantes. Des branches de cèdres ondoyantes et sauvages s’enchevêtrent au-dessus de nos têtes. Elles évoquent la circulation du vent mais peuvent aussi faire référence à d’hasardeuses fluctuations d’algues, de cheveux, ou au sinueux réseautage du système nerveux.

Biographie


Laurent Gagnon vit et travaille à Québec, il détient une maîtrise en arts visuels de l’UniversitéLaval (2002). Sculpteur, il développe aussi une pratique avec les techniques d’impression. Il a réalisé de nombreuses expositions individuelles et collectives au Québec, en Ontario et à l’international. Depuis quelques années, il démontre un intérêt marqué pour l’art public sous toutes ses formes, développant des partenariats avec des organismes comme Folie/Culture, EXMURO arts publics ou XO Développement. Par ailleurs, il réalise plusieurs œuvres dans le cadre du Programme d’intégration des arts à l’architecture. Les œuvres de Laurent Gagnon font partie de plusieurs collections privées et publiques telles celles d’Hydro-Québec, de Pétrolia, de l’Institut Canadien ou des Archives nationales du Québec.

Diane
Landry & Francis
Labissonnière

5
Solitaire

Le squelette d’un campanile est habillé par une membrane qui vient épouser les formes de son corps élancé. Esseulée, cette œuvre évoque nos origines métissées. Tel un clocher sans son bâtiment, une cheminée d’un vaisseau enfoui, la sculpture jaillit du sol comme une fusée prête à être propulsée. La toile qui l’habille rappelle l’abri, la tente, le tipi. Le Solitaire surprend le passant, car son érection dans le passage étroit est plutôt inusitée. La plateforme urbaine de l’entrée, nous invite à entrer dans cet espace pour expérimenter l’aura céleste de la flèche.

Biographie


Née au Cap-de-la-Madeleine, Diane Landry vit et travaille à Québec. Elle a étudié les sciences naturelles et travaillé en agriculture avant de décrocher un baccalauréat (Université Laval) puis une maîtrise (Stanford University, Californie) en arts plastiques. Son travail est exposé en Amérique du Nord, en Europe, en Chine et en Australie où elle a aussi présenté des performances. En 2009, le Musée d’art de Joliette a publié la première rétrospective de son œuvre, Les défibrillateurs. Sa première rétrospective aux États-Unis, The Cadence of All Things, a été présentée au Cameron Art Museum à Wilmington (Caroline du Nord). Landry est représentée par la Galerie Michel Guimont et la Carl Solway Gallery (Cincinnati, Ohio). Elle a reçu plusieurs distinctions dont la bourse Guggenheim en 2015. Né à Batiscan, Francis Labissonnière possède des formations en soudage-montage ainsi qu’en arts plastiques et médiatiques. Il est également diplomé en sculpture de l’École des métiers d’art de Québec. Inspiré par la forme, l’histoire et la mémoire des choses, Francis Labissonnière crée des versions miniatures d’objets de la vie courante et cherche à leur restituer une poésie formelle. Par l’emploi de diverses techniques de sculpture (assemblage, soudure et moulage), il se bricole un monde meilleur à petite échelle dans une tentative d’encapsuler l’enfance. Francis Labissonnière a présenté ses œuvres notamment à Québec, à Lévis et à Toronto. Il vit et travaille à Québec.

Isabelle
Hayeur

6
Agora

Agora se veut une réflexion sur l’avenir du Québec, dans le contexte des politiques néolibérales actuelles. L’artiste y aborde les thèmes du désengagement de l’état, de la privatisation des institutions publiques, des mesures d’austérité, de l’effritement des libertés politiques, de l’éducation, de l’environnement... Elle a invité des chercheurs, journalistes, politiciens, militants, environnementalistes... à lui envoyer des réflexions sur la situation politique actuelle. Elle leur a demandé : « Où s’en va-t-on? Quel avenir pour le Québec? » « Qu’est-ce qui vous indigne? » « Quels sont vos craintes, vos espoirs? ». À partir des pensées reçues, l’artiste crée des murales virtuelles composées de textes qui apparaissent et disparaissent.

Biographie


Artiste de l’image numérique de Montréal, Isabelle Hayeur est reconnue pour ses montages photographiques, ses vidéos et ses installations in situ qui mettent en évidence les aberrations de l’urbanisation. Ses œuvres sont diffusées au Québec et dans le monde. Elles figurent dans les collections du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, du Fonds national d’art contemporain à Paris, de la Art Gallery of Ontario, de la Vancouver Art Gallery, du Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, du New Orleans Museum of Art et du Museum of Contemporary Photography de Chicago. Isabelle Hayeur a été finaliste au Scotiabank Photography Award en 2015.

Elsa
Tomkowiak

7
Sans titre

La couleur envahit, se module, se dégrade, sur de grandes lanières de plastique transparentes pour déformer notre perception de l’architecture. La couleur se répand, organique et minérale, interrogeant le rapport de nos corps à la notion d’artifice. À l’échelle du paysage urbain ou naturel, l’artiste propose une expérience sensorielle et dynamique. Palette profonde et tonique, une nouvelle paroi vibre et diffuse une lumière changeante au fil de la journée.

Biographie


Née à Saint-Vallier, en France, Elsa Tomkowiak vit et travaille à Nantes. Depuis une dizaine d’années, elle s’approprie des espaces architecturaux ou naturels par des installations à grande échelle. Ses interventions colorées ont investi les pentes enneigées des Alpes aussi bien que les sites industriels à l’abandon ou des murs et structures de bâtiments. Ses installations, dessins et oeuvres issues de techniques mixtes ont été présentés aux quatre coins de la France, dans des expositions solo et collectives et dans le cadre de grands événements.

Yves
Gendreau

8
La Tour de Babel aux échelles

Évoquant à la fois l’ordre et le chaos, l’oeuvre s’inspire du mythe de la Tour de Babel. Elle représente la figure manifeste d’un projet de société toujours en transformation, mû par une ambition démesurée, non pas comme une structure achevée, mais comme un processus. Construction anarchique, cette tour bricolée, colorée, conjugue force et précarité. De nature évolutive, l’oeuvre se transforme progressivement. L’artiste met en scène son travail. Personnage hybride, vêtu et équipé comme les travailleurs de la construction, il organise son chantier, construit, grimpe dans ses structures. Avec une pointe d’humour et une exubérance indéniable, La tour de Babel aux échelles évoque la complexification croissante de notre civilisation actuelle. Elle suggère la présence de l’altérité et de la diversité, valeurs essentielles, toujours fragiles, d’un projet de société, d’un chantier humain nécessitant la participation et la cohésion sociale.

Biographie


Yves Gendreau a développé une pratique qui oscille entre les commandes d’œuvres d’art public et les œuvres sculpturales indépendantes. Son travail a été présenté dans des contextes individuels in situ (Chantier 365, L’intention Dare-dare, 1998), lors d’événements et symposiums, au Québec (D’un millénaire à l’autre, Maison de la culture Côte-des-Neiges, Montréal, 2000) en Suisse et en France (Chantier Public, 4m cube art contemporain, Rennes, 2003). Il a réalisé plusieurs œuvres intégrées à l’architecture, dont celles, extérieures, du pavillon J.-A. Bombardier de l’Université de Montréal, de la Station de métro de la Concorde (Laval), de la Promenade Samuel-De Champlain et du Complexe multisports de l’Université Laval. Il est impliqué depuis 30 ans au centre d’artistes 3e impérial.

Fontaine /
Fortin /
Labelle

9
Petite vie

Dans le vide dicté par le rythme de la rue, un mur irradie et diffuse sa personnalité. La façade propose au spectateur un questionnement sur son rôle au sein de l’ensemble architectural de la ville. La paroi se prend pour la ville. Qu’en est-il du vrai et du faux? Pourquoi tant d’ornementations? Consommons-nous nos relations humaines comme l’architecture? Jugement de façade. Pourtant, les indices sont perceptibles. Le passage entre les ouvertures évoque la relation entre l’extérieur et l’intérieur — un espace différent. La conscience qu’au-delà de la surface se cache une histoire. La tranche de mur est un espace en soi, un passage rappelant l’épaisseur des murs environnants. Épaisseur nécessaire ou pièce de théâtre? L’intérieur de l’installation se moque de l’environnement. Un lieu à part entière contenu entre deux murs. Une ode à l’insolite. Un jeu. Un décor… dans un décor? À Place-Royale, les façades parlent et racontent des histoires. Des histoires de la vie.

#petitevie

Biographie


Francis Fontaine, Luca Fortin et Pascal Labelle forment un regroupement créatif issu d’univers distincts s’unissant ponctuellement depuis leur rencontre à l’école d’architecture de l’Université Laval. À travers des parcours en art, ingénierie et architecture et avec des expériences d’études en France, Suisse et Suède, leur approche singulière converge vers l’architecture et le design. Appelée à évoluer, leur méthodologie créative s’appuie sur la recherche de l’équilibre entre les technologies innovatrices, la sensibilité des lieux, le jeu de formes et l’humour absurde.

François
Mathieu

10
Bas les armes!

Charger tout ce béton pour ensuite le décharger à côté et recommencer. Malaxer à parts égales amour, effort et matos, y perdre lentement ses repères. Jouer un peu avec les mots : le mortier, les mortiers, les canons de Québec... Les structures de bois s’emballent un peu, entraînant une logique de drill militaire, avec ses mouvements en cascade. Les corps plient et se relèvent, ils tournent et se retournent. Les regards restent braqués vers un horizon hors foyer. Les armes tournoient en prenant l’entourage pour cible, à hue et à dia. Viser inconsidérément dans toutes les directions, c’est s’amuser à se tirer dans les pieds. Pris à la légère, le port d’armes est un jeu lourd de sens.

Biographie


Détenteur de baccalauréats en philosophie, en arts plastiques et d’une maîtrise en études de l’Université Laval, à l’atelier Le Valet de Cœur, aux ateliers de l’Œil de Poisson ainsi qu’au département de design du Collège F-X. Garneau de Québec. D’abord sculpteur, il a présenté une trentaine d’expositions solo et collectives au Canada, au Mexique et en Belgique, en plus de ses réalisations en art public. Ses machines immobiles portent des visions poétiques du sens du monde. Natif de Saint-Éphrem en Beauce, il vit et travaille à Saint-Sylvestre, près de Québec.

Rosemarie
Faille-Faubert &
Victor Gounel

11
Jardins électroniques

… Entre jardins suspendus, lucioles en lune de miel, câbles informatiques d’une banque de données ou encore organismes du futur inondés d’agents chimiques, les Jardins électroniques se propagent dans les coins sombres des villes et sont source de bien-être pour des habitants en manque de vitamine D…

Biographie


Rosemarie Faille-Faubert, candidate à la maîtrise en architecture de l’Université Laval, revient d’une année enrichissante en France. Elle remporte plusieurs concours, dont Paysages en dialogue et Passages Insolites. Passionnée par la découverte du paysage, elle s’intéresse à une architecture expérimentale, sensible et réactive aux besoins de l’Homme. Victor Gounel, étudiant de l’École Nationale Supérieure d’Architecture de Montpellier (France), est aussi peintre et fondateur du collectif Tristesse Collective prônant la pluridisciplinarité en art. Il s’intéresse à de nombreuses formes artistiques et à l’expérience comme moteur de créations nouvelles.

Francis
Montillaud

12
Quiproquo monumental

À partir de modèles réduits, j’ai réalisé une série de statues grandeur nature renversant les manières de faire couramment utilisées pour rendre hommage aux grands hommes. Je propose ainsi d’insérer dans l’espace public six sculptures abracadabrantes mais réalistes, dans un va-et-vient entre la figurine et la statuaire, la figuration et l’abstraction, le comique et le grave. Disposées ça et là dans le parc, ces étranges statues ébranleront le rapport à l’art public et aux monuments traditionnels en déréglant les systèmes de construction de l’image du corps et en parodiant la figure du héros.

Biographie


Francis Montillaud vit et travaille à Montréal. Son travail a été présenté dans les galeries, centres d’artistes, maisons de la culture et événements au pays et en France. Depuis 2007, il a réalisé plusieurs installations éphémères à Montréal. On peut apprécier ses œuvres permanentes à la Station de Mies Van Der Rohe sur l’Île-des-Sœurs, au Parc Dollard-des-Ormeaux, au Jardin de Sculptures à Winnipeg et à l’école primaire aux Quatre-Vents à Saint-Jean-sur-le-Richelieu. Au théâtre, il a élaboré la conception vidéo et la scénographie de Ailleurs, un spectacle multimédia de Kevin McCoy, qui lui a valu une nomination au Gala des Masques 2007.

Télécharger la carte
du parcours (PDF)

Con-

cours

photos

La Belle

Insolite

Du 24 juillet 2015

Au 28 septembre 2015

Participez au concours de photos « La Belle Insolite » organisé par EXMURO arts publics en collaboration avec les Restos Plaisirs! Il y a trois façons de gagner :

1. Partagez via Instagram, Twitter, Facebook une photographie de format JPEG incluant une œuvre du parcours d’art public les Passages Insolites 2015, avec le mot-clic #passagesinsolites et courez la chance de gagner l’un des 10 Prix de participation instantanés : une carte-cadeau de 25 $ dans les Restos Plaisirs.

2. Aimez la page Facebook d’EXMURO arts publics, partagez une photographie de format JPEG incluant une œuvre du parcours d’art public les Passages Insolites 2015, avec le mot-clic #passagesinsolites et invitez vos contacts à aimer la page Facebook d’EXMURO arts publics et voter. Vous courez la chance de gagner le Grand Prix du Public « La Belle Insolite » : un forfait Restos Plaisirs pour 2 d’une valeur de 150 $ et un panier-cadeau d’une valeur de 310 $.

3. Remplissez le formulaire et téléversez une photo incluant une œuvre du parcours d’art public les Passages Insolites 2015, au format JPEG, 1024 x 768 pixels à 72 dpi. Vous courez la chance de gagner le Grand Prix du Jury « La Belle Insolite » : un forfait Restos Plaisirs pour 2 d’une valeur de 150 $ et un panier-cadeau d’une valeur de 310 $.

Une seule participation par personne sera acceptée. Voir les détails et règlements du concours.

Télécharger les règlements

Remplir le formulaire

#passagesinsolites

Resto plaisir
‹ Édition 2014
FR / EN